Please get in touch if you would like to help with any of the events below…

18th June 3-5 pm The Great Get Together Tea party In Llangorse village hall for people living around the lake- all welcome.

19th – 25th JuneRefugee Week 2017 – if you would like to organise/help with  a fundraising or awareness-raising event, please get in touch.

21st June group meeting at 6.30 at Gwernyfed rugby club – All Welcome

Sunday 2nd July -Crai away day

15th-16th July- weekend at the Pales and Trefonen School  Llandrindod away days

19th July 6.30 Group Meeting at Gwernyfed Rugby Club

Saturday 29th July – Talgarth Sports away day

Saturday 12th August- Brecon away day

Sunday 24th September – Penpont away day

Sunday 15th October – Gwernyfed School away day


Past Events

2017

Thursday 27th April – Wales as a Nation of Sanctuary Conference, Cardiff – book tickets here (please get in touch if you plan on going as we can coordinate lifts)

28th April to 1st May – Talgarth Walking Festival

Sunday 14th May – Craig Y Nos picnic

Monday 15th May – Monthly group meeting – all welcome – further information here

25th May to 4th June – Hay Festival

Sunday April 2nd – Llangorse away day

Saturday 18th March Trip to Hereford Football Club

Sunday 5th March – Away Day at Penpont House

Saturday 4th MarchStall at Brecon Women’s Artisan Market

Saturday 4th February – ‘World Music’ – a fundraising evening with the Brecon volunteer Bureau at the Muse, Brecon

Sunday 29th JanuaryAway Day at Ysgol Cradoc School

Friday 20th January – National #BridgesNotWalls campaign day – Brecon – further information here

Wednesday 11th January – AGM and monthly group meeting

2016

Monday 12th December – candlelight vigil during Brecon Cathedral’s Christmas Tree Festival to pray for, and raise awareness of, the plight of the Calais children – further information here

Friday 9th – Monday 12th December – Participation in the Festival of Trees at Brecon Cathedral – further information here

Saturday 10th DecemberHay on Wye Winter Fair

Saturday 10th December – Music for Refugees at the Globe, Hay-on-Wye

Wednesday 7th December – Sanctuary in the Senedd – further information here

Tuesday 29th NovemberSanctuary in Parliament 2016

Saturday 26th November – Hay Literary Winter Festival

Thursday 24th & Sunday 27th November – Caerphilly Castle Away Day (via Lumen Prize)

Saturday 29th OctoberLandmark Trust near Llanthony Priory Away Day

Sunday 9th OctoberBronllys Away Day

Sunday 25th SeptemberChrist College Away Day

Sunday 11th September – stall at the Brecon Prom Fest

Thursday 1st SeptemberCraig y Nos Away Day

Sunday 21st AugustBrilley Away Day

Friday 12th Augustwomen’s and children’s day (Talgarth)

Saturday 6th August – stall at the Brecon Show

Saturday 30th JulyTalgarth Away Day – summer sports weekend including a friendly football match between Talgarth Seniors and Unity in Diversity.

Saturday 23rd July – stall at the Llangorse Fete

Sunday 10th July – Llangors Away Day

Tuesday 5th July – ‘Meaningful Activity with People Seeking Sanctuary‘ – an event by Displaced People in Action / Swansea City of Sanctuary at which we will be speaking. Further information here.

Friday 17th June – Fundraising for us and our work is MUSIC FOR SYRIA at The Globe, Hay-on-Wye, 7.30. An evening of great music, of many styles and from many places, to give vital support to refugees fleeing conflict. See our news post about the evening here.

Monday 30th May (bank holiday Monday) – welcome refuge café and crafts day in the Hay Parish hall with activities for children and a stall, a Teddy bear tombola and selling refreshments with a Paddington tea party.

Sunday 29th May – hosting a stall at the African Market at Hay Parish Hall and holding a bucket collection at 2pm.

Saturday 28th May – bucket collection at the Hay festival.

Friday 27th May – Fundraiser – Talgarth Male Voice Choir and The Monday Ladies Choir are holding a concert at St Mary’s Church, Hay on Wye, at 7:30pm. Tickets £8 (proceeds are kindly being donated to our group). Please get in touch for further details.

Sunday 15th MayElan Valley Away Day

Sunday 17th AprilBrecon Away Day

Wednesday 13th April – Quiz to raise funds for the Brecon Away Day – 8pm  at the Brecon Workmen’s Club – £2.50 a head with a maximum team size of five. There’s also a raffle at a pound a strip. It should be a fun evening and will give us some much needed money for the Brecon Away day. Address: Brecon Workmens Club, 3 Watergate, Brecon, LD3 9AN (opposite the Boar’s Head)

Monday 11th April – Ben Rawlence, author of City of Thorns, Nine lives in the World’s Largest Refugee Camp is holding a talk at Hay Library at 7:15pm

Tuesday 5th AprilCraig y Nos Away Day

Sunday 20th MarchAway Day hosted by Llangenny community

Thursday 17th March – The Citizens Cymru Governance of Wales Accountability Assembly 2016

Saturday 12th March – Borderlines Film Festival, Hay on Wye (stall)

Sunday 24th JanuaryAway Day hosted by Llanfihangel Talyllyn community

2015

Sunday 13th Decemberour first ‘Away Day’, Hay on Wye

Saturday 12th December – Hay on Wye Fairtrade Fair

Thursday 10th DecemberSanctuary in the Senedd, Cardiff

Friday 4th  December – Brecon Guildhall (Amnesty International cards for prisoners event)

Tuesday 1st DecemberSanctuary in Parliament

Saturday 26th NovemberHay Festival Winter Weekend